Call for Papers

IFIP/TC6 Networking Workshop on Computing Networks (Comet 2017)


Computing networks combine communication and computing resources to acquire, transmit, process and act upon data, often under delay, computational and bandwidth constraints, and with stringent performance, resilience and security requirements. They may include middleboxes for performing various functionalities, including in-network processing, executing network functions, potentially in complex topologies, with an emphasis on the interplay between computing and communication, and the resulting services and functionality. Due to limited resource availability, one needs to jointly consider computing and networking resources to optimize end-to-end performance. Computing networks will play an essential role in fixed and mobile communication networks, and will also be crucial in future industrial control systems, transportation, smart environments, and digital manufacturing. 

The aim of the workshop is to bring together researchers working on theoretical and systems aspects of computing networks, with an emphasis on novel networking architectures and algorithms that support computing and on computing architectures and algorithms that can adapt to the network.  

The workshop will include presentations of accepted papers, and will feature an exciting series of keynote talks by R. Srikant (UIUC) and Jens Schmitt (University of Kaiserslautern). Authors of selected top ranked papers will be invited to submit an extended version of their paper to IEEE Transactions on Network and Service Management for fast-track processing.


The workshop invites both theoretical and experimental contributions, the topics of interest include but are not limited to:

  • Network and computing architectures for computing systems (SDN, NFV, cloud infrastructures)
  • Service and function chaining  
  • Stochastic models for computing networks 
  • Game theoretical models and economics of computing networks 
  • Resource management for computing networks
  • Measurement studies of computing networks
  • Network-aware algorithm design 
  • Algorithm-aware network design
  • Protocol support for computing networks
  • Algorithmic support for computing networks
  • Applications of computing networks (smart grids, autonomous driving, smart manufacturing, etc)


Paper format and submission instructions

Submitted papers should be unpublished work and they should not be under review by any other conference or journal. Papers should be no longer than 6 pages (IEEE double-column, 10pt) in total including references and figures. Guidelines on paper formatting are available here

Please submit your paper in PDF format, and embed all fonts in the PDF to avoid printing issues. Papers will be reviewed single-blind. Please follow the submission link on EDAS for submitting your paper. 

Accepted papers will appear in the symposium proceedings published by IFIP and will be submitted for publication in IEEEXplore. At least one author of each accepted paper is required to register and present the paper at the workshop.


Important Dates

Paper submission deadline: March 1, 2017 (extended to 13 March, 2017)

Paper acceptance notification: April 12, 2017

Camera ready: April 27, 2017

Workshop: June 16, 2017


Organizing committee:


  • György Dán (KTH Royal Institute of Technology)
  • Markus Fidler (Leibniz Universität Hannover)


Technical Program Committee:

  • Ahmed Abujoda (Juniper Networks, Germany)
  • Mostafa Ammar (GeorgiaTech, USA)
  • Baltasar Beferull Lozano (University of Agder, Norway)
  • Raouf Boutaba (University of Waterloo, Canada)
  • Michael Bredel (NEC Laboratories, Heidelberg, Germany)
  • Niklas Carlsson (Linköping University, Sweden)
  • Matteo Cesana (Politecnico di Milano, Italy)
  • James Gross (KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden)
  • Yuming Jiang (NTNU Trondheim, Norway)
  • Wolfgang Kellerer (TU München, Germany)
  • Dejan Kostic (KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden)
  • Max Mühlhäuser (TU Darmstadt, Germany)
  • Panagiotis Papadimitriou (U of Thessaloniki, Greece)
  • Diego Perino (Telefonica Research, Spain)
  • Amr Rizk (TU Darmstadt, Germany)
  • Stefan Schmid (Aalborg University, Denmark)
  • Jens Schmitt (TU Kaiserslautern, Germany)